kedarkantha trek


The Kedarkantha Trek is one of Uttarakhand’s most popular winter treks. It is both a beginner’s dream and a delight for experienced trekkers. The hike is covered in snowy white during winter and offers stunning views of the Himalayan peaks. 

This hike offers trekkers an opportunity to live in the most remote reaches of the globe in winter, a once in a lifetime experience.

The Kedarkantha Trek is a spectacular sight with picturesque villages, meadows and snow paths, as well as a dramatic landscape filled with beautiful lakes, mountains, peaceful streams, and towering Himalayan summits.

The Kedarkantha Mythology

Kedarkantha, like many other Uttarakhand sites, is not an exception. According to the Mahabharata Lord Shiva, in his bull form, fled from the Pandavas and sought refuge in the valley. He then meditated there until he was disturbed by the locals, and fled to Kedarnath.

Lord Shiva Trishul is the peak of the mountain and is believed to protect the valley’s inhabitants. The Kedarkantha Trek is possible at any time, but it’s one of few Himalayan treks you can do in winter. It is recommended that it be done between December and April to allow trekkers to enjoy the breathtaking scenery and trek on the snowy peaks.

Itinerary for Kedarkantha Trek

  • Day 1: Dehradun Arrival

Delhi to Dehradun

  • 260 kilometres

Approximately 7-8 hours by bus: There are many overnight Volvo, semi-deluxe, luxury and UPSRTC buses that run from Delhi to Dehradun.

Fly by Air

There are flights to Dehradun’s Jolly Grant Airport from all major cities.

By Train

There is an overnight train from Delhi to Dehradun. The Nanda Devi AC Express departs Delhi at 11.50 p.m., and arrives in Dehradun around 5:40 a.m.

Natural beauty is a treasure trove.

Distance: 220 km

Time: Between 10 and 11 hours

Altitude: 6,400 feet

How to reach Sankri from Dehradun

Sankri is only accessible by road from Dehradun. You can either rent a private car or take a bus to get there.

You can also use a private vehicle to follow the path described below.

By Bus: There are two buses that run between Dehradun and Sankri at five o’clock in the morning, one at seven o’clock in the morning, the other departing from the Mussoorie Bus Stand, 4 km from ISBT.

Taxi: You can take a shared taxi from Dehradun to Sankri.

Cost: Rs5000-Rs6,000 per cab for 5 persons*

  • Day 2: Sankri to Juda Ka Tab

After a healthy breakfast, the hike starts towards Juda Ka Tabab, leaving Sankri village via the Sor extension.

After passing through the settlement the road starts to climb steeply towards Kedarkantharoad.

While admiring the stunning scenery, you’ll be climbing and crossing many bridges.

  • Day 3: Trek to Kedarkantha Base Camp from Juda ka Talab.

From Juda Ka Talab, it is a 4-kilometre drive to Kedarkantha Base Camp. It is located at 11,150 feet. The journey passes through dense pine trees before reaching spectacular mountain views. From here, you can enjoy spectacular views of nearby snow-capped peaks like Bandarpoonch and Swargarohini. From this vantage point, you can also see the Kedarkantha peak.

  • Day 4: Hargaon Campsite, via Kedarkantha Base Camp or Kedarkantha Peak

6 kilometres

It takes 6-7 hours to complete

Altitudes from 12,500 to 8,900 feet

You can reach the summit of Kedarkantha by many routes. It is located approximately 2 hours from the base camp. To see the spectacular sunrise, it is best to begin the hike before sunrise (usually at 3 a.m.).

  • Day 5: Hargaon/Sankri

6 kilometres

It takes 4 hours

6,400 feet above the sea level

The path from Hargaon Sankri to Sankri is well-marked. It follows a stone-paved pathway. It takes less time because of the descent.

 You’ll see spectacular views of Har ki Dun Valley along the way. If you’re arriving by private taxi or vehicle, you have the option to stay in Sankri and see the charming Himalayan village. Or, you can return to Dehradun that day.

Kedarkantha is a beautiful place. The beauty of the landscape around Swargarohini Peak and Black Peak make it stand out. They soon reach the snow as they enter the forest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10 − 9 =